Dems Breaking Rank On ObamaCare Delay: Update 2

A few more Democrats are expressing interest in either extending the open enrollment deadline or delaying the individual mandate.  (Also see previous posts.)

Reps. Bruce Braley and Dave Loebsack, both from Iowa, “cite the freeze-up of the government’s health insurance website, Health, since it opened Oct. 1 as the reason to extend the deadline past March 31,” according to the Des Moines Register.

The Quad City Times reports that Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill.,”expects the administration to grant penalty waivers to people who haven’t been able to enroll in time.”

That increases the list to twenty-three:


Bruce Braley

John Barrow

Cherri Bustos

Gerry Connolly

Gene Green

Dave Loebsack

Bill Pascrell

Jared Polis

Dutch Ruppersberger

Debbie Wasserman Schultz


Mark Begich

Michael Bennet

Dianne Feinstein

Kay Hagan

Martin Heinrich

Mary Landrieu

Joe Manchin

Mark Pryor

Jeanne Shaheen

Mark Udall

Tom Udall


Alison Lundergan Grimes (Senate, Kentucky)

Michelle Nunn (Senate, Georgia)

The National Center for Public Policy Research is a communications and research foundation supportive of a strong national defense and dedicated to providing free market solutions to today’s public policy problems. We believe that the principles of a free market, individual liberty and personal responsibility provide the greatest hope for meeting the challenges facing America in the 21st century.